Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

It is a fact that nowadays an increasing amount of individuals choose to move to urban areas. This is the result of various new professions created by technology that is mostly found in large cities. This increase has many implications for people and nature. This phenomenon is mostly observed in the last few decades due to the technological revolution our world is facing. This leads to plenty of job openings being created in large cities and thus people relocate to fill them. In contrast, agricultural professions are being replaced with machinery that is faster and more efficient than any human being. Furthermore, in the last couple of,years a trend has developed that favours cities over rural areas regarding their living style. Specifically, humans prefer a busy and intense lifestyle in comparison with a more relaxed and quiet life. Although this change in urban and rural populations has many positive attributes, it is mostly associated with a negative impact on life’s quality. For instance, the increase in the city population leads to difficulty in transportation and serious housing issues. Another downside is the damage that nature is facing due to greenhouse gasses overpopulated cities emit, in large amounts. Finally, a commonly unnoticed problem is that of the health of urban residents. Because of the intense way of living, there is a big risk to an individual’s mental health, which should not be overlooked. To sum up, the technological revolution and modern trends are the main reasons for the rapidly increasing urban population. That is the cause of many modern problems which make everyday life harder for people and do significant damage to the environment. It is obvious that measures should be taken to counter this newly observed issue.