The gap between rich and poor is growing . What problems does this create ? What can be done to tackle them.

In this contemporary world, a majority of countries experience a social gap between the wealthy and the poor. Therefore, this essay will first discuss the issues that have arisen because of this and then, what can be done to solve these. First, the main reason for the increasing gap between the rich and poor is due to unequal distribution of resources. As a result, this creates a division in society and leads to high crime rates. For example,a recent article stated that criminal activity such as theft has increased by 30% in one year in Sri Lanka due to the increasing social gap However, the government can intervene and reduce the gap between the rich and the poor using numerous ways. Here, one way is to ensure that low-income families have access to basic necessities such as healthcare and food. This will improve their quality of life and will be happier. Another way to reduce the social gap is by encouraging poor children to go to school and take their education seriously. For instance, the Sri Lankan government provides scholarships to poor children to get into good schools and universities for free to continue their studies further. As a result, these educated students will be hired by companies and will receive a good family which will help them to live a life out of poverty. Consequently, all of these methods will reduce the division between the wealthy and the poor, and people will treat each other with respect and live happily. In conclusion,it is aptly clear from the aforementioned information that the social gap in the community will lead to a higher level of criminal activity. But, the steps taken by the government such as providing food, education and healthcare will reduce this gap to a certain extent.