Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this day and age, due to the development of globalization, people have more chances to move abroad or study overseas. While some say settling down in a foreign country and speaking the local language can lead to severe social and practical troubles, I am not quite with this idea. It should be admitted that living in a place you are not familiar with can bring some inconvenience. To be more specific, some people may find that they can not catch up with the natives when in conversations which even leads to misunderstandings. In terms of practical needs, since some people live far away from their family and friends, it is difficult for them to find someone trustworthy and willing to give a hand when they need some assistance to tackle things. Under this circumstance, people may need to face a lot of headaches on their own. However, these matters can actually be dealt with as time goes by. That is because after a year or two, people gradually make progress in their language learning and get familiar with the local environment and natives, therefore they are able to find more resources and make friends with local residents. This could assist them to work out the problems they are worried about. Moreover, in this way, people's ability to communicate with others is improved. Finally, staying in a country different from one's hometown helps one learn more about the outside world, and thus can broaden one's horizons. In conclusion, in the long run, both social and practical problems people are concerned about can be solved after they are acquainted with local surroundings and residents. More than that, one can actually learn something useful and improve themselves during the process.