It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings even though many of them are famous and historically important. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is ubiquitously discussed whether old buildings should be maintained or whether it would be wiser to spend more on building new ones. Many people are proponents of the idea that government should allocate more funds to creating new buildings instead of upkeeping old historical buildings as it incurs a huge cost. I completely disagree with this idea. In the subsequent,paragraphs I will elucidate the reasons. First of all, old and ancient buildings have historical importance. They represent the culture of the corresponding period in which it was built. For example, Stonehenge in the United Kingdom which was built around 2000 BC is still standing tall. It was a ceremonial site for religious practices. However, if the government stops spending money on maintenance they will be gradually destroyed and our future generations will never come to know about the glorious past. Apart from that, these historical sites attract a lot of tourists be they,natives or foreign travellers. Therefore, those places are of high economic significance as the economy of those localities is based on tourism. For instance, the city of Agra attracts a lot of tourists due to the marvellous Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. They are the lifeline of the people of Agra. Not only Agra but as a whole India is also getting benefited by exporting tourism of these cultural heritages. Therefore, it is wiser for any government to spend money on maintaining such sites which gives an economic boost to a country as a whole. In conclusion, I would like to say that the governments of the respective countries should definitely spend money on developing new buildings for new businesses and economic growth. But the importance of old buildings with historical and cultural importance should not be forgotten. They should be maintained properly too.