Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on our health and society. Governments should introduce measures to restrict ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for their work. To what extent fo you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern day and age, humans spend most, if not all their time around electronic devices, whether at work or at home. One of the electronic devices which we often keep in closest proximity to ourselves is none other than the mobile phone. However, there has been concerns over the significant rise in ownership of mobile phones lately which might have potentially harmful effects on the health of humans as well as society as a whole. Hence, should the government make the leap to restrict ownership of mobile phones only to those who use them for work? First and foremost, it is undeniable that by taking the step in restricting use of mobile phones, the government would also be combating social media addiction, which has been strongly linked to the spike in cases of anxiety and depression in younger generations. This carries many benefits, especially in enhancing health by preventing eye-strain, promoting exercise, as well as cultivating good mental health among people of all ages. One of the greatest boosts in mental health are provided by real-life social interactions such as simply chatting with a loved one or even getting back in touch with a long lost friend. Socialising can significantly strengthen the bonds between people and create long-lasting and memorable relationships. Other than that, mobile phone restriction can serve as protection against online scams and malware which in reality has been the tragic downfall of many of its victims. It is also a distraction to drivers and has resulted in an increase in road accidents resulting from use of mobile phones when driving, which could have been easily prevented. On the other hand, mobile phones are convenient as they provide faster communication and can be handy during emergencies. It may even be able to be the determining factor in a life or death situation where every second counts. Mobile phones can save time, energy and transportation costs by reducing the need to travel for brief meet-ups with family or friends. Therefore, it reduces carbon footprint and emission of green-house gases with the usage of more online platforms such as zoom and google meet. In short, it is very clear that both arguments with or against restriction of mobile phones bring up different points that carry much importance each to a certain extent. But I personally believe that restricting ownership of mobile phones to those who use them for work only can considerably bring more benefits towards the people and society than otherwise, despite the slight inconvenience.