It is increasingly common for people to get the news from social media. Traditional sources of news like newspapers, television and radio are becoming less popular. Why is this so? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the usage of the internet to spread rumours has been widely accepted and the consequence is society has started to neglect old-style media, such as newspapers or television. In my opinion, although it will draw numerous benefits, there are also many drawbacks we should consider. To begin with, social publishing is eligible to spread the news swiftly and reach a wider range of people. As long as receivers have an active internet connection, they can obtain the shared video or text. For instance, people from America may get messages from citizens in Indonesia in the blink of an eye. Furthermore, using social media means we could get a bunch of information through one time of scrolling since everybody on the internet can share information, regardless it is true or false. The more source the more we can calibrate the occurrences. For example, if the majority of media said the forest fire was caused by unresponsible people, and the minority said that it was ignited by a lightning strikes, then we can conclude that the culprit must take responsibility for this disaster. On the other hand, a lot of consideration we need to take care of, such as hoaxes and negative news. The simplicity of posting a report and there being no curators of the content can lead to misunderstanding or fake data. Hoax sometimes is used as an issue distraction for politicians or businessmen, to blur the genuine one. Moreover, negative or hate speech may become the common thing we find in the social media timeline. Normalizing this kind of thing will lead to growing hatred. Hatred toward certain people will make us stop to develop, yet just focus on other people ’s weaknesses. All in all, we should use media social wisely, since we can get much faster news, nevertheless, hoaxes and negative news also become a thing we should consider while surfing the internet.