It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There are people who prefer to continue working despite their old age. I believe that it is more beneficial to continually do their job no matter what their age is. Some companies do not accept the elderly as their worker because this can affect the productivity of their institution. Because of age, there are occupations in which they might find difficulty finishing the tasks on time. For example, when a senior is working in a computer-based occupation, aside from handling technologies with hardship, some old workers experience pain in their hands as a result of arthritis. Thus, they will be unable to type faster and this will decrease their productivity level, the reason why some establishments consider age as a factor causing delays in accomplishing the tasks of their department. However, still choosing to pursue a career in spite of the age will help an individual maximize their capabilities and skills. Other geriatric employees are still able to complete their jobs perfectly. Some are considered team leader because they already mastered their field of work. For instance, elderly men who work as a physician for more than half of their lives, as senior doctors, are able to teach the young ones to give proper and appropriate treatment to their patients. Furthermore, the longer the time they work, the higher the pension they will receive once they have retired. Even though they are at their retirement age, they can still save up money and use it once they are no longer working. In some countries for example, they are raising the retirement age and work as long as they can. Let’s say a 70-year-old nurse who is able to continuously provide support and care for a patient. They do not consider age as a hindrance in delivering services to people. In conclusion, although age specifically affects one’s ability to work, I agree that it is better for them to go on and work as long as they are able to. Especially in the health sector which will be a huge help to other people and their society.