Some people believe teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit the teenagers and the community as well. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Share personal examples if applicable.

There is a wide notion that teenagers could work for the public in their spare time without financial compensation. This is a rather controversial argument with pros and cons, which will be explored in this essay. Employment nowadays is a major issue concerning the quality of life. Teenagers, also, face difficulties in having sources of income. However, one can hold the opinion that a youngster could profit from working without a standard wage. One of the advantages could be gaining work experience through hardships. Additionally, apart from money earning, an adolescent may learn through cooperation to expand social skills and furthermore, to strengthen personality traits quite useful for later stages of life. This kind of industry could also prove invaluable for the rest of society and the economy of a country, as it is translated to budget cuts for a workforce. Nevertheless, a job without a salary could bring up morally unacceptable matters. Such as job ethics and employee rights. That has to do with social equality and it is an issue of societal justice. When a person offers to the community, it is imperative that he should get money in return, so as to have a quality of life. In my opinion unpaid work cannot be a mainstay for community employees of any age. Especially for teenagers which could lead to a sort of discrimination called ageism. Even young people could benefit from participating in community affairs, but they should as well have secured a stipend for any activity they are involved in actively. An example of paid job in the community for a teenager is caregiving for the elderly, a youngster could benefit from the interaction with older people and earn money, too. In conclusion, I hold a critical position against uncompensated labour. I strongly support the idea that adolescents could benefit from working in the state, but they should train themselves to demand morally acceptable standards of employment.