How important is to teach children about sustainability? These days, looking after our environment is increasingly important, and children should learn about sustainability. Write about the extent you agree with this statement.

Protecting our planet has become a major concern for many countries over the world. Some people argue that youngsters should receive appropriate education on how to support the environment’s sustainability. Personally, I agree with this statement and in this essay, I will discuss how teaching children to adopt a sustainable way of living might be the key to our world’s future. First of all, promoting sustainability to children should be given in schools, but also at home. Parents are not only responsible for raising their children, but also for giving them the best education and acknowledging the major concerns of our society. Furthermore, educating children to love and take care of our Earth might represent a huge factor in becoming conscious and responsible adults in the future. For instance, the Australian government decided to enact the “Sustainability Declaration” in 2009, which involved parents and teachers to teach more sustainable patterns of living to the youth. Secondly, offspring are the future of our world, thus they need to understand what actions are needed to be done to prevent and avoid other natural disasters. The past century has seen a dramatic increase in the percentage of air and water pollution, deforestation, and floods, all of them caused by the human mismanagement of natural resources. Hence, children must be aware of the past and as adults, prevent and avoid such tragic events, like floods, dry, storms etc. To sum up, it is of utmost importance for parents and teachers to give a more sustainable education to the new generations that could lead to fewer natural disasters and take care of our world.