Some people say it benefits students spending at least one year away before going to the university, do you agree or disagree?

The gap year has become a trend in recent years. Therefore, whether students should spend a minimum of one year before attending university raises a lot of debate. I think it needs to be analyzed and decided on a case-by-case basis. On the one hand, those who are highly disciplined and motivated to learn can take a break before going to the academy, and they are very likely to pick up some practical skills during the break, which can contribute to their future work. Besides, having a gap period can also improve their social skills. For example, students can meet people coming from different cultural and economic backgrounds while spending time outside school, and after being exposed to such an environment they would be able to understand the cultural differences, thus accepting them. This process can help them learn to stand in others’ shoes and cultivate empathy and improve their social skills as well. On the other hand, there is no need to take a period break for people who do not like learning knowledge, since they may be unwilling to go to university after a long break. For instance, if a person takes a year to travel around the world and be a vlogger before college, it is very likely for the person to decide to not continue his/her study at university, which may be due to the short-term money he/she earned or the fame he/she got. In conclusion, as discussed above, having a gap period(s) can not apply to all cases. For those who are equipped with high self-learning skills, it will bring a lot of benefits. However, for others, it is not necessary to spend a year away before going to an educational institution.