In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the agricultural advancements in recent years, numerous people are still hungry worldwide. I believe that exploring the causes of this problem can assist in finding suitable solutions to resolve it. The negligence of some governments could partly account for their people ’s starvation. A number of governments do not invest sufficient money in the agricultural sector. This can have negative effects on food security in their communities. In other words, these governments are always spending most of their revenues on enforcing military forces and buying weapons. Consequently, some people in their countries may suffer from food shortages. For example, in Iran, most people who live in deprived areas encounter food insecurity as a result of the government’s mismanagement. To resolve this problem, governments should concentrate on producing agricultural products and care for boosting the efficiency of providing and distributing food nationwide. A considerable amount of food waste in many countries can also explain why there are a huge number of hungry people. Research findings confirm that the annual amount of food waste all over the world can be adequate for ending starvation. National and international authorities are responsible for this issue and can rectify the situation. They should raise public awareness about the consequences of wasting food. For instance, they can conduct programs with the focus on encouraging people to buy and consume the needed amount of food. Moreover, in such programs, the effective ways of preparing food can be educated so as to reduce leftovers. To conclude, even though the mismanagement of some governments and wasting food contribute to spreading starvation on a global scale, governments and international authorities can remedy the situation. In my opinion, making people conscious and focusing on the production of agricultural crops are steps in the right direction.