The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With the development of technology, every aspect of people ’s lives has changed. Therefore, some believed that traditional values about how people should live are not relevant now, whereas others have diverse opinions. I think that not all beliefs from the elder generations are useful for young people, there should be a balance between traditional ideas and modern behaviours. On the one hand, if ideas were about the qualities people want to possess in order to reach some goals at certain things, which would be helpful in terms of improving young people ’s lives since the qualities and traits of success have never changed. For example, successful businessmen nowadays share the same personalities as the inventors in the past, who were equipped with hard work and perseverance virtues. Hence, if the young generation can apply such traditional ideas to their own lives, which will help them to succeed in their careers. On the other hand, other traditional beliefs can not provide benefits to the young generation in their modern life. Senior citizens are very likely to stick to outdated beliefs and practices. if we blindly copy their ways of living without assessing them, this may impede us from deriving the advantages provided by modern society: more advanced technologies and open-minded beliefs. For instance, many parents want their children to be doctors because they can contribute to society, get respect, and make more money. Whereas, various jobs have this benefit, such as social media influencers, self-employment and so on. If young people listen to such traditional ideas, they will limit their career development. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, young people should adopt conventional ideas more wisely, which means learning good traditional qualities that help them to be successful and embrace the technologies provided by modern society.