All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Parents, by nature, are always curious about their children's tutoring, especially in school. Some parents believe that participation in practical activities will be more beneficial for their kids than just learning theoretically, while others see that the multiplicity of courses is favourable for their children's life careers. I personally believe that school students should learn various subjects rather than gaining practical skills. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and refer to some studies and experiences to illustrate my preference. Firstly, gaining proficiency provides children with better chances when they grow up. Proponents of this perspective argue that learning functional abilities increases self-confidence and creativity for teenagers which opens up a wide range of opportunities for them when they become adults, and will also help them in deciding what they want to be in their life. However, the reason for my disagreement with this point of view is somewhat tentative; while skills do play an important role in children's lives, they cannot be more essential than having knowledge on various subjects that will really support them as they grow up. For example, my little brother and my cousin are the same age, while my brother used to be in school and then he got into university, my cousin attended the vocational training academy, two years ago both of them graduated and they started looking for a job, in two weeks my brother had a chance to work in a company as a computer technician, while my cousin is still searching. On the other hand, students should be taught different types of science, history, literature, sports, morals, and values. Advocates for this standpoint emphasize that this will expand their children's mindsets to higher standards of thinking and desires, as well as develop their knowledge and mental abilities, which will eventually put them in the best positions at the best workplaces. I find myself agreeing with this opinion primarily because nowadays, high political, military, and even social positions require a very good education and specific knowledge and degrees rather than skills. In addition to this, a statistical study published at Harvard University in 2022 on how much workers are satisfied with their positions revealed that employees who are educated in specific majors are 90% more satisfied than craftsmen and undergraduate technicians. In conclusion, while professionalism does provide an upper hand for teenagers as they grow up developing it, knowledge and variant culture will result in a better future and opportunities. In light of the argument presented, learning different majors in schools emerges as a superior path for students, especially when considering future careers and work positions.