Some people think city planners should create more green spaces and plant trees. Others believe that they should focus on building new homes. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, more people live in industrial cities than in rural areas. Therefore, there are a lot of issues considered by local governments regarding how to develop their cities. One of these questions is about whether city planners should build more green space and plant trees in towns or build more new houses. Although the number of houses and their affordability is a valid concern, I strongly believe that the number of green areas and parks are the problems we should focus our attention on. Building new houses might be seen as the main goal of every city or town. When a local government pays a lot of attention to construction dwellings they stimulate the supply of new ones and therefore decrease their prices. Simply saying, the more houses the city has, the more affordable they are. Moreover, affordable prices strongly influence one of the poorest classes in every country - their students, especially from rural areas. It is not a secret that rental payments comprise a large proportion of total students’ spending. Consequently, the lower the house price, the more people can afford to study. But despite these valid reasons, I think there are some other more important issues to be concerned about, such as pollution and people’s rest. Green areas or parks in cities are the ones of that places where citizens can take a rest after a long and hard day, or spend time with their friends and family. So arranging more green space provides a better quality of citizen’s life. Furthermore, planting more trees makes the air in cities cleaner, because trees consume carbon dioxide and emit oxygen, or simply saying, produce fresh air, which is, in my opinion, a more essential option for us living in cities today. To conclude, although housing affordability for different groups of our society is a quite significant issue, I believe that the air quality and the number of parks where people can spend their spare time are much better for everybody.