Some people think that genetically modified crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Scientific modifications in farming have undoubtedly, led to a green revolution. It is generally believed that such advancement is a positive development but it is difficult for a few people to espouse this thought. They opine it to be potentially hazardous. I personally, side with the latter view and will explain my perspective in the below paragraphs. First of all, the genetically modified vegetation is certainly appealing to the eye and is tasteful. For instance, lots of vegetables available today are huge in size compared to those in earlier days, owing to the technique called hybridization in which any crops can be grown together to obtain benefits of both products. Additionally, it increases the sale of fruits and vegetables which benefits farmers to a great extent and thus improves the financial situation of society to some extent. On the other side, the alteration made to enhance the appearance and taste usually compromises its quality. For example, local vendors are infamous for injecting ethane injections in apples which makes them sweeter. Such fruits artificially ripened in a day and are lacking in essential vitamins and fibres. Consumption of such items, in the long run, may lead to poor health and various health disorders. Moreover, the chemicals and various genetic techniques used in agriculture make the land futile. Consequently, humans suffer at both ends and the potential dangers of this invention cannot be ignored completely. In nutshell, a scientifically produced crop may seem a good healthy option at first but in, reality it is causing much harm which is not anticipated by most people. Therefore, it is a negative development and I suggest that people should consume organic food for maintaining their health and betterment of the society.