Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

While it is not possible to remove technology from our lives, a gradual transition in lifestyle will help. Not looking at any digital screen for 30 minutes before going to bed is an excellent way to increase the quality of sleep. Regular meditation has also proven to calm the mind, thereby increasing the chance of sound sleep. For instance, reading a physical book for 15 minutes right before going to bed relaxes our minds and prepares the body to rest. Thus, a small duration of time and effort that is invested to improve our sleep quality provides great results. Sleep deprivation is a major issue in the modern lifestyle which affects a lot of individuals. Lack of sleep is responsible for autoimmune disease and increased stress levels in individuals. While this essay will discuss these causes, it will also suggest solutions for these issues which include limiting screen exposure and meditation. Difficulty in getting the required amount of sleep results in individuals falling prey to autoimmune diseases like lupus. Additionally, it is also a leading cause of stress. Too much exposure to technology and work-related stress are the reasons for the increase in the number of people having problems getting quality sleep. When a person works on a computer till midnight, for example, he/she is not in the correct psychological mindset to go to sleep peacefully. Which leads to diseases and stress -related issues. To conclude, getting enough sleep to rest the body and calm the mind is becoming increasingly difficult. This essay discussed two main problems that are caused by lack of sleep which included autoimmune disease and heightened stress. This essay also discussed possible solutions for getting good sleep which was limiting screen time and including meditation in daily rituals.