Childhood obesity is being a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

Studies show that the number of over-weight children across the globe is increasing significantly nowadays. According to various reports, although, at presents, a notable rise in gyms is observed, multiple factors such as changes in diet or lack of outdoor activities are exacerbating obesity among teenagers. As a solution, limiting fast food consumption and promoting physical activities are mentioned in the following paragraphs that might help to reduce the rate. To start with, the causes of excessive weight gain are multifaceted that surely involve the consumption of high calorie food like pizza, burgur or soft drinks. In this era of competition, children are less aware about what they take as meal rather focus how the time of preparing food can be minimised. As a result, they prefer eating packaged food or going to restaurants which eventually causes in weight gain as these types of food contain preservatives, sugar and salt. On the other hand, they are less informed about the nutritional value and balanced diet which leads them to weight gain. Here, first of all parents should be careful about what their children are going to eat. In addition, fast food shops should be kept under surveillance in terms of their cooking process and ingredients to enhance artificial taste. Likewise, now it is preferable to participate in a virtual game instead of playing footbal, cricket or badminton in fields which results in over-weight. Moreover, children are spending more time in front of the monitor sitting in chairs which helps to increase body fat. In this context, physical clubs can be subsidized and sports tournaments can organised monthly in schools. To conclude, in western nations, fatness among children is alarming. Thus, it is the right time to reduce the rate. Or, in the near future obesity should cause high blood pressure, diabetics or others health diseases.