Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In order to decline the number of crime, it is still debatable whether criminals should be sent to jail for longer period of time or related parties should take another alternative ways. In my opinion, using another method will be more effective in reducing crime rates, of which this essay is going to elaborate. On one hand, prison is particularly effective in reducing crimes when it is targeted at serious and repeat offenders. Providing prison sentences for a long time will have a deterrent effect on criminals. They will not repeat the crimes they committed because they already know how tormented they are living in a prison that severely limits their freedom as human beings. Besides, if people are imprisoned and educated during their long prison term, they will leave prison as a good and insightful person since they have learned something important from jail. Despite the above argument, I strongly believe that opening job opportunities should be considerably taken as one of the alternative ways in reducing crime. There are motives from perpetrators to launch their actions in doing crimes, one of which is economic reason. Regarding that, by providing as many job opportunities as possible, stakeholders can help reducing the number of crimes because people are able to fulfil their needs on their own since they have a job to make money from. For instance, a banker, who works in a state-owned enterprise, would not do crime for economic reasons since he/she has a job to earn money from to fulfil his/her daily needs. All in all, although the two methods above can be applied to reduce the rate of crime, I believe that by creating as many jobs as possible it will be able to reduce the crime rate because the most common reason people commit crimes is due to economic factors.