In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university or even after finding a job. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, many young men and women are residing with their parents even after graduating or finding a job. Although there are downsides, this essay will argue that the advantages are more as this attitude of living together strengthens the family bond. Youngsters when they live with their parents make their relationship with their parents stronger. To explain this, if young adults move away from their parents, they become emotionally detached from the family. However, when they live with their parents, they have the responsibility of taking care of their elderly parents in terms of health and finances. Recent studies have shown that elderly parents have a lower tendency to develop depression if they live with their children. This can be seen in Asian countries where young adults live with their parents and they lead happy life together. Moreover, at the beginning of their careers, youngsters do not have to bare additional financial burdens like spending money on rent, utility bills and food. For instance, the initial salary of a trainee or a fresh graduate is considerably less compared to the experienced ones. On the other hand, young men and women living with their parents have drawbacks as well. These young adults will not develop the mindset of taking up responsibilities. In other words, if these youths face any difficulties in terms of personal life or finances they always tend to rely on their parents for support. This dependence attitude can prevent them from taking risks in their lives. For example, it is evident that youngsters who live separately have achieved more career achievement compared to those who stayed with their parents. To conclude, although there are some drawbacks when young individuals live with their parents, the advantages outweigh them. This is mainly by strengthening the family bond and creating a pleasant mental environment for their elderly parents.