Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.  To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Greater utilization of public transport services over personal vehicle use is one of the best ways to reduce hazardous gas emissions. Some believe that allocating more budget to develop railways rather than roads is crucial in initiating eco-friendly transportation. In this essay, I will discuss the importance of government authorities granting finances to develop more railways than roads as I accord with it. First and foremost, transportation via trains is much more eco-friendly. When the public tends to use trains for their travels, the amount of individual vehicles on the road decreases drastically. This will eventually lessen the uncontrolled traffic congestion and significantly reduce the carbon dioxide emission from cars. For instance, studies have shown that there was a remarkable reduction in carbon dioxide emissions after two months of opening a brand-new railway line in Manchester. This clearly depicts that when railroads are formed many people are prone to use them and as a,result it helps in the protection of the environment. Secondly, the capacity of the trains can carry a much bigger population than self-owned vehicles. For example, the maximum amount of passengers that an individual vehicle can carry ranges from four to six whereas in trains it would range from hundreds to thousands depending on its length. So one train ride uses lesser energy and also in return emits lesser gas emissions. If people are encouraged to choose trains as their mode of travel, we can cause a positive impact on preserving the environment. In conclusion, the officials must pay a great deal of attention to railroad construction than encouraging individual road development so that we can reduce the detrimental effects on the environment of vehicle exhaustion gases.