The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Despite the detrimental effects of the production and use of cars on the environment, these products of the auto industry are increasingly gaining popularity. This phenomenon’s causes may stem from certain cultural and economic aspects in many countries, and it is the government that can resolve this problem. It is observed that the rate of car ownership has peaked in many developed countries, which contributes a tremendous carbon footprint to the environment, while greener and greener modes of transport are being adopted in European nations. In less developed cultures, however, such possession of automobiles is usually associated with the status symbol that many individuals are working to achieve. In addition, the economy in these regions is becoming more and more prosperous as a result of increased GDP. A good example is Vietnam, which is one of the fast-growing economies in Southeast Asia. In this country, people including the middle class are gaining wider access to car ownership due to greater disposable income. So great is the demand that a new domestic auto company named Vinfast has been established to meet it, regardless of environmental repercussions. The government can impose an impactful response to this issue through stricter laws and taxes. Regarding the former, measures of standard emissions from cars can be adjusted. This practice would cut down on the average amount of pollution from private automobiles, which helps prevent the air quality from deteriorating. With regard to the latter, these carbon-intensive energy sources can be reduced by raising taxes on cars running on non-renewable power. Electric vehicles, on the other hand, should be sold to the market with lower taxes to encourage people to optimize this environmentally friendly transport mode so that it would be more popular. In conclusion, the soaring private car ownership recorded in many countries is due to the association of social status and the increase in income, especially in developing nations. I believe that only by leveraging the government’s regulation in terms of laws and taxes can car possession be controlled properly.