Some people think that governments should increase the tax on unhealthy food to enhance public health. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that in order to increase the health of the people, the state should impose a tax on unhealthier food. This essay agrees with this statement because with the imposition of a tax, junk food will become costlier, thus decreasing consumption and such collected tariff amount will be used to create awareness about obesity and other related health problems. The first reason, why this essay agrees with this statement is that levy of an additional tariffs on junk or canned food will increase the prices of the food, which generally creates obesity and other health issues. Due to the tax, the food chains will have to pass on the tax to the consumers, due to which prices of such items will definitely increase. With increased prices, it has been seen in many developing countries that sales of such products have significantly decreased. This has resulted in few people going to hospitals. For example, in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, when the government imposed an additional tax on sugary drinks, their prices increased, resulting in a decrease in sales and youngsters becoming obese. Another reason for my agreement with taxing unhealthier food is that with collected tariff, the concerned health department may utilize such money for disseminating information about the negative effects of the food, which generally causes health problems. The advertisements on the news channels or the newspapers may contain information about obesity, its causes and the lifestyle, which men and women should follow in order to avoid these problems. For instance, the administration can require the food companies to print on their envelopes, bags or price boards the calories, that burgers, fries and other drinks have in them and their effects on health if more than a certain level is consumed. In conclusion, to make a healthier nation, it has become imperative that governments should charge more tariffs on foods, which are not healthy for the nation. This feat of administration will not only help in the reduction of such food intake but also serve another purpose of generating awareness in people about related health diseases.