Playing computer games only has negative effects on children. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays children everywhere play computer games. Some people believe this can only cause damage to youngsters as they may develop an addiction or start to form social habits.  To a large extent, I agree with this statement; however, with strict parental control, it may be possible to produce some positive effects too. Studies have shown that computer games are highly addictive. Youngsters crave them while they should be focused on other things like homework. Furthermore, they often lose interest in healthy outdoor activities, use games to escape problems rather than deal with them, and become irritable when not playing. This can lead to depression or anxiety. Hence, computer games can create addiction in pre-adolescents, which could contribute to future mental illness problems in our societies. A second important problem is that of youngsters accessing violent games triggering aggression and violence in the children themselves.  Recent studies in America have demonstrated that exposure to violent games produces feelings that last long after the game has finished.  In such games, the young players are rewarded for violent acts, which can dampen their sensitivity to the consequences of such behaviour in real life, and can lead to them becoming more aggressive and even committing crimes.  The more violent games children take part in, the more likely they are to form antisocial habits. ConverselyConsequently, there are many valid arguments in favour of children playing computer games and with parents controlling the time spent playing and the types of games played, there could be benefits.  One of the most convincing  arguments is that youngsters can develop good problem-solving skills For example, in the hugely popular game Angry Birds, the child has to actively find different ways to solve problems in a short time. Furthermore, some games call for problem-solving in teams which helps foster good social skills. Hence, children can benefit by developing good problem-solving and good social skills. In conclusion, if we allow our children free rein over their computer game playing, we are risking the development of addictive, antisocial and even violent human beings. However, by regulating their playing, it may be possible that we can encourage them to develop useful skills which will benefit them as they approach adulthood.