Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an argument recently that brutality in the media, such as on social networks and films could lead to violent behavior in the real world. Personally, I disagree with this statement because it mostly depends on how strong someone is mentally and liking violent things does not necessarily mean you are brutal yourself. Firstly, violent media has been around us for many years and most likely for the rest of society’s existence. However, you rarely see any cases of people commiting cruel acts by seeing a gore film. A solid proof to this is that probably everyone has seen an explicit film but no one has ever picked up a knife and went on a massacre after watching a violent movie because nobody would react like that unless they are already mentally ill in the first place. For example, most murder cases are due to people with a mental disorder and not because of violent films. Secondly, you would be surprised that a lot of people enjoy brutal things not because they have a sort of sick pleasure but because these types of media feed their curiosity and provide genuine entertainment for them. The proof to this is that there is a large amount of followers for this genre of media and it is likely that none of these people are savage because as we all know violent or scary media provides a sense of suspense and fear, not violent for people which not many other types of media gives so this is the reason why there is such a big following for this genre. For instance, I am a devoted follower to gore films but I am still a scaredy cat and would not hurt an ant. In conclusion, I do not agree with the statement mentioned because violent media does not make a normal person brutal because it only does if they are already in a weak mental state. Furthermore, most people just view violent media as a means of entertainment, not as something to replicate.