Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other however believe that there are other alternatives ways of reducing crime. Discuss your opinion?

The number of criminals is gradually increasing these days and this makes many people suffer. Some people argue that giving longer prison sentences is a key to reduce crimes while other believe that there are alternative solutions to discourage people to commit a crime. I agree with the latter opinion. Some people claim that longer prison sentences should be effective because they prevent from increasing the number of criminals. If courts give long prison sentences to criminals, people will pay more attention to them and this will discourage people to commit a crime. For example, in Japan, since a criminal was sentenced for approximately 20 years due to a car accident, the nation has started taking serious about such crimes. This is an example why some people believe that giving long sentences is crucial to reduce crimes. On the other hand, I believe that there are other alternative ways to stop people committing a crime. One of the solutions is that governments introduce more CCTV cameras in cities. For instance, in my hometown, the amount of criminal cases is now decreasing after Japan’s government installed CCTV cameras in the city. Moreover, one of the prestigious universities in Japan reported that introducing CCTV cameras has a huge impact to protect people from criminals. In conclusion, there are effective ways such as monitoring people with cameras rather than giving longer prison sentences to reduce crimes. To sum up, despite there being arguments for making longer prison sentences, I believe that other methods such as monitoring people, are capable of decreasing crimes.