Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that advertisements have always been used as a practical tool to increase sales by many businesses. However, some argue that commercials are becoming a part of everyday life and that we are no longer paying attention to them out of habit. While this is true for a number of reasons, I firmly believe that ads are still powerful enough to function as an effective means of product promotion. There are several factors that might contribute to commercials becoming less appealing. People are frequently informed about new products technically by all means of promotion: traditional ads on TV and the radio as well as online advertising of websites and social platforms. The same ads are frequently broadcasted to people in different settings ranging from their homes to their workplaces, so much so that this repetition no longer attracts their attention. Furthermore, todays advertising is skippable. As regards marketing means such as YouTube pre-roll ads, viewers are allowed to make the content ad-free and enjoy it with no interruptions. Clearly, the facts that advertisements are a common sight in every place we set our foot in and that we have integrated a “skip-ad” habit in our unconscious minds shrink their charming power. Nevertheless, there are numerous marketing strategies and tricks being exercised that make me believe that advertisements still resonate with the target audience. Although ads might feel mundane and dull in terms of repetition, advertisers are transforming the industry by using entertaining elements which is sharable by many as a result. This is often done by including hilarious moments or even jokes that relate to the large public, delivering their message to potential consumers through fun. In addition, people are granted definite rewards for watching sponsored videos online, leading to lower rates of skipping. Online gamers are a good case in point. These people are highly stimulated to gain monetary bonuses through watching advertisements, which might bear desirable results for businesses. Most importantly, advertising agencies carry out research on peoples preferences and habits so that they can find the right target audience. This definitely prevents all of their efforts from going in vain. In conclusion, although some advertisements may not seem interesting enough to perform their mission, ad makers have become savvy with pragmatic ways of enticing people to make purchases. Therefore, in my view, the industry in question is successful to grab people `s attention and is not useless regarding the efforts.