In modern society traditional food is being replaced by fast food. This trend has a negative impact on both individuals and society. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, we are surrounded by fast food outlets, suggesting the increasing popularity at the expense of nutrient-rich traditional food. Some might consider that the newer option is more attractive, but we should not overlook the health problem and cultural costs related to them. There is no doubt that fast food is much more convenient. It can help the impatience of modern people to release their desire to eat within a limited period and avoid waiting too long. Also, it is relatively cheaper. Therefore, purchasing affordable processed meals would be a measure for low-income individuals suffering from hunger. For example, in most cases, a meal from a traditional food restaurant is well over double the price of the fast food chain stores. Nevertheless, we should not overlook the drawbacks of this trend. The main factor which is detrimental to our health is instant meals. The majority of nutritionists and doctors recommend that harmful additives and trans fat associated with processed cuisines contribute to the development of diseases such as obesity and diabetes. Moreover, the globalisation of instant food can be a threat to traditional meals. Food is often seen to be representative of a culture’s characteristics. Therefore, the success of international instant foodstuff brands could cause a crisis in a country’s identity when there is an alteration of our taste from high-quality traditional food to easy, quick fix of fast food. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally concur that we do need to maintain a certain distance from junk food which menaces both individual health and our cultural heritage.