More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

There are many wild animals that are close to extinction or are likely to be listed as endangered today. It is believed that habitat loss, caused by climate change or over-exploitation, is the main reason for causing the problem. In this essay, I will discuss these reasons further and explore potential solutions to the problem. To begin, habitat loss can occur in different ways but is today mainly caused by human infrastructure, pollution and climate change. For example, polar bears are an animal widely affected by this, their natural habitat consisting of ice and snow in the arctic is slowly deteriorating as the weather keeps on getting warmer and warmer. At the same time, they are also experiencing the side effects of pollution, as much of it ends up in the ocean and contaminates the fish, which is their main food source. Without the right conditions and food, it is hard for the polar bear to survive. Furthermore, over-exploitation, in form of harvesting trees, is another major risk for habitat loss and animals becoming extinct. Tackling climate change is a big task, I believe that every nation, government, and business carries a big responsibility in solving the issue. Rules and regulations, for,emissions have to be put in place and also provide the general public with options to choose more environmentally friendly ways of living their everyday life. In Amsterdam, commuting by bicycle or public transport is more common than using your car, equally in Copenhagen. However, if you look at most cities in The United States this is almost impossible and would be considered dangerous as there are barely any cycling lanes. Creating environmentally friendly options for the public is, therefore, crucial if we expect every individual to make environmentally aware decisions, that improve climate change and pollution. In conclusion, animals are dependent on the human species to look after and nurture the earth, as their survival relies on it. Measures from authorities are the best way of changing the negative trend of climate change.