Nowadays, the rights of young people are not respected. What solutions can you suggest?

In most countries around the world, children are recognised as persons by law. However, because children do not have the same access to power as adults, they lack the means to defend their rights. It is therefore important that adults recognise the rights of young people. Some argue that this is uniquely the duty of parents. In my view, society as a whole must bear some of this responsibility. In this essay I will outline three measures that can be taken to safeguard the rights of young people. Firstly, government can ensure that its policies take the interests of children into account. It could, for example, appoint a children's commissioner to scrutinise new legislation for compliance with frameworks such as the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. This would ensure that young people are continuously represented in the halls of power. Secondly, local government and charities can ensure that young people have access to independent confidential sources of help. Telephone help lines are just one example of what could be done. One such service in the UK, Childline, answered over 700,000 calls last year, suggesting a strong need for this kind of help. A third possible measure is to ensure that information about children's rights is widely disseminated through schools, for example, and the mass media. Children who are well-informed about their rights are in a better position to seek help to defend them. In short, society has an obligation to look after young people. Doing so can have benefits for all. Young people who have felt valued by society are more likely to recognise the value of society and behave accordingly.