With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the Internet. What potential problems may this trend lead to? What solutions can you suggest to deal with it?

The number of young people who have uncontrolled access to the Internet is rising, since social media is increasing day to day. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problems caused by this phenomenon are ignoring real life and a possible decrease in productivity and then argue that paying fines and strict control. Obviously, if youngsters waste time on visual and non-existent heroes in games, they might lose self-esteem and stop improving themselves. Furthermore, by expanding the sources of information on the internet, youngsters harm their mental health. For instance, according to research about the studying abilities of students at Stanford University, students who used to scroll social media a lot, have felt less confident and stressed during exams and have admitted that concentrating on long tasks was difficult, also, their exam results were lower by 20% than the results they showed when they did another test. Parents should be responsible and look after their children, as it might be essential in order to prevent consequences such as health issues or lower marks. Moreover, strict rules about allowed hours need to be set up by the government to control and help to be more focused on work or study. For instance, in Japan there used to be a rule according to which young employees and students have access to social media only after working hours. In conclusion, widespread use of social media might lead to problems in society among teenagers and children such as having problems both with mental health and physical health and being less productive, however, setting up fines who spend more than allowed and have severe control over parents can prevent possible consequences.