Cricket has become more popular than national sports in the subcontinent countries. what do you think are the reasons behind this?

During collonial period England has brought Cricekt to the subcontinent, since then many people started playing the game. I the recent times cricekt has gained moment and became more popular game than national sports, in this essay I shall discuss reasons behind this. To embark upon, fan base for cricket has spiked suddenly when the Indian team won 1983 world cup, as nobody thought Kapil Devl lead team would win againest the mighty West Indies in the final. More over the game itself is more engaging than any other game like kabadi or football, so its popularity in India has became increasing year on year. Initially game was played only in test format, but as this format takes five days to complete the ICC introduced one day format which eventually led to ODI world cup. As the time progressed T20 format came into existense. T20 formate took down TRP ratings for broadcasters and became most pleasing format of the game. Perhaps, cricket is the only game in the world that is played in three formats. In India as popularity for T20 increased BCCI started IPL in 2007, eventually this league became one of the most watched sport in the world. This led to more and more people started playing as well as watching the game. Cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli etc became sports persons with most fan base in the world. The rise of cricket is not only limited to India even across the world its popularity is increasing. In the past only 8-10 countiries used to represent in the world cup, but in the recent times this has increased to 14. In conclusion, I would say that cricket popularity will remain same and be one of the most loved sport in the subcontinent.