*Assignment* In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Although the percentage of severe crimes is on the decline, people feel they are not as safe as they were in the past. In my opinion, rumours on social media platforms are the primary cause for this issue; this situation can be countered if authorities regulate software companies to restrict fake and unauthorized content. These days, Fake news and false information are the main reason for the feeling of insecurity among individuals. Many people use old videos of conflicts and hate messages to spread fear in society, and these clips and texts make people concerned about their safety. In the past, spreading information was a sluggish task; but at present, news can travel within seconds over the continents, making social networking vulnerable for the peace of the community. For example, many people spread hatred on Facebook and WhatsApp for others’ practices and beliefs, making many feel that intolerance is rising in society and they are not safe in this environment. One of the viable solutions to this problem is that governments can ask the tech giants to restrict the offensive and provocative content from their portals. Moreover, people should become responsible, and before believing in any information, they should check its authenticity. These measures will reduce the feeling of insecurity among citizens, and they will realize that the present environment is safer than before. For instance, clashes between communities mostly rise these days over WhatsApp messages or Facebook posts. Therefore, it is necessary to regulate tech companies to ban false users and their content from their websites and applications to prohibit their misuse. To conclude, the aforementioned points make it evident that despite the severe crimes are reducing, people are feeling unsafe, and hatred and false content on social media platforms are the primary reason for this situation. This matter can be solved if authorities make policies for firms to restrict offensive and provocative content from their portals.ys, crime is