Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree?

With the development of the world, there is a spike in damages caused to the environment. Some states that increasing fuel prices is the optimal method to fight this global issue of nature. I partially agree that the reduction of fuel costs may have a positive impact however, there are a lot of ways to accomplish the same effect. In this essay, I will discuss alternative methods to save the biosphere apart from meddling with the fuel industry. Firstly, when the prices of petroleum and diesel are increased, there will be a reduction in the number of consumers. If the usage of fuels enriched with carbon is less, there will be a significant reduction in the emission of carbon dioxide which is a direct toxic pollutant that intensifies the depletion of the ozone layer resulting in global warming. For instance, in 2022 there was a major drop in the supply of petroleum in Sri Lanka which led to skyrocketing prices and this resulted in many people choosing eco-friendly options like bicycles. The research studies later showed the emission rate of pollutant gases by vehicles was reduced by fifty per cent in that year. So, increasing the fuel prices will reduce the number of buyers thus, reducing the negative impact on nature. On the other hand, just decreasing the price would not address the root cause of this problem. Encouraging the use of natural energy sources like wind power and solar power would be a positive endorsement. For example, when people use automobiles powered by hydro or solar power, then there is zero toxic waste. So, finding alternative efficient ways to replace petrol and diesel could be beneficial in tackling global environmental issues. Moreover, if the concept of car-pooling and public transportation is developed, then there is a great decline in bad outcomes. In conclusion, a price reduction of oils would aid in finding answers to international environmental problems but, there are a number of other ways which address the root cause thereby tackling a larger fraction of the problems in an efficient way.