In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, less printed newspapers and books are sold. It is predicted that no one will purchase them since everything is accessible online for free. This essay will argue that printed newspapers and books are unnecessary. To begin with, going on the internet and searching for material to read is much less time-consuming than physically going to a bookshop or a library. In my opinion, the internet is more accessible and may contain more material hence why printed books are becoming less popular. For instance, in China, it is reported that many bookshops are closing down because they are not profiting as they witness a dramatic drop in number of customers each month. That is to say, in the following decades, there is no doubt that no one will buy printed material rather than read everything online with paying a penny. Secondly, material online could be downloaded and saved in secure files so they are not lost, whereas printed papers could be easily lost or stolen. Searching for a book through the title on a computer is more simpler and takes less time than going through piles and shelves of books. For example, a recent study claims that there is a large number of newsletter readers usually own two or more copies of a newspaper as they buy it again thinking they have lost it. Looking for a novel on the computer or smartphone is easier and quicker than physically attending a library and looking for it. To conclude, one cannot deny that no one will be interested in buying printed material. There is a much simpler way and less time-consuming which is opening the internet and reading everything online. Additionally, documents online are very difficult to lose and are there forever.