Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The sustainability of the ecosystem has always drawn great concern from all over the world. Some people claim that contemporarily the major environmental problem lies in the extinction of certain species, while others harbour the idea that there are more urgent ecological issues which require our effort. Diversified environmental problems can be observed nowadays, which are quite urgent to be solved, admittedly. The shortage of natural resources, the prevailing of environmental pollutions, the unpredictable climate change are all imminent dangers to all living creatures. It is never too cautious to focus on those potential crises to the environment. However, people have already taken countermeasures to tackle the aforementioned problems. The healthy and environmentally-friendly lifestyle has been cultivated for years, while numerous innovative technologies have been created in order to check and balance the present situation. Consequently, lots of previous problems have been at least soothed, while the extinction of species, no matter plants or animals, cannot be reversed. Once a specific type of creature is lost, it is almost impossible to save it back to the nature. Compared to other environmental problems, the loss of species is the one that human beings cannot solve up until now. Considering from this perspective, the emergency of this problem deserves more concentration. What is more, one of the crucial aspects of natural balance is the co-existence of diversified species. Once a particular kind of animal or plant is lost, the survival of other species may also be hugely influenced. The birds, for example, have been assumed as the most resistive type of species because of their flying and stronger endurance capabilities. Due to the deterioration of forest environment and loss of plants, huge numbers of bird species have also been died out. Once an irreversible extinction has happened, potential threats may also approach. In my opinion, once an extinction of a species emerges, it is too late to make any remedies. Therefore, this issue should place more priority.