Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a basic human nature of judging and creating an opinion about any person they come across in day-to-day life. Some believe one’s culture and tradition can be established by simply observing how they dress. In my viewpoint, although the choice of clothing can tell us much about these traits, this holds true only up to a point. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the dress sense of many people is reflective of their cultural traditions and religious background. This is because many cultures around the world have particular rules on what and how to wear. For instance, if we see a long-bearded man wearing a turban with a ‘kada’ in hand, we can easily guess that he belongs to the Sikh community. Because of such social markers, it is quite easy to deduce that people belong to one culture instead of the another. Having said that, there are often limits to how much one can discover just by looking at someone’s clothes, especially when it comes to defining their character. To illustrate, here in India, a woman dressed in complete white clothes may be judged as a widow in mourning, living a sad, depressed and secluded life. However, it is more than possible that such a woman just likes to wear white, and she is a cheerful person. Not only it is difficult to accurately determine an individual’s personality by merely looking at the clothes they wear, but also it is an inconsiderate thing to do. In conclusion, while it is not impossible to gather bits of correct information about personal nature and background via their taste in clothes, there is a real danger of being misled incase we rely on this assessment method at all times. After all, it is said that looks can be deceiving.