Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that governments should invest money in railways instead of roads. I completely agree with this statement because railways can be a part of reducing air pollution and can be a key role to increase economic activities. First of all, investing in roads may be effective in terms of more convenience to travel to other cities or places but it may affect the increase of air pollution as improving roads can attract more cars. In comparison, for example, if governments spend money to develop railway systems to make them easy to travel around any place and built them into the main transportation, people will be more interested in railways and will choose them rather than private cars. This is good for the environment because rail services can take people in a larger capacity and therefore much lower per-capita carbon emissions than private vehicles. In addition, funding railways can make the growth of economic trade because the railway systems can connect various areas so that trading between people in different places will be easier, importantly also transport a lot per time and cost-effectively. For instance, in my country, traders in the north of Thailand will send their products to Bangkok easily if railways can connect to them, same as traders who live in Bangkok and need to expand their network into the countryside, railways are the effective systems that will help them save their cost and expand their businesses comfortably. Although nowadays road transport is more accessible rather than railways, they come with more high-cost transportation too. Hence, that's why governments should invest budgets in railways to improve the economy in the long run. In conclusion, governments should spend more money on railways than roads. For one thing, better railway services help to reduce pollution problems and, for another, they will play a big part to improve the economy of the country.