In the last century when a human astronaut arrived on the moon he said "it is a big step for mankind". But some people say it makes little or no difference to our daily life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The desire to explore this universe is an integral part of human nature. Many people argue that the exploration of the moon doesn’t have any benefit on our daily life, additionally, the money wasted on these activities must be used to elevate the lifestyle of the poor populations. On the contrary, I believe that exploration has helped mankind to take a giant leap towards a sustainable future which will be explained in this essay. To commence with, the scientific and Engineering research during the development of spaceships helped us to eliminate certain problems. For example, the system that uses radio waves to find the location of a certain object was invented during the Apollo Mission. Later on, this equipment found many applications in the aviation and automobile industry for tracking purposes. Our mobile phones use Global Positioning System (GPS) that is based on this technique. Secondly, our universe comprises millions of types of elements and compounds. As we know, the minerals and resources available on our earth are not enough to meet the growing demand of our population. Therefore, it is necessary to find new resources. Space exploration has helped mankind to explore new or alternative methods which can be utilized in case of mineral scarcity in future. For example, National Space Agency (NASA) has discovered new habitable planets, such as Kepler-II which has suitable resources to support human life. To conclude, space discovery has contributed a lot to human development, and the first step on the moon was a massive achievement. Although millions of dollars spent on exploration could be utilized elsewhere, I believe that its advantages overshadow the drawbacks.