In the contemporary world, as a result of the development of digital technologies, individuals opt to order products online instead of visiting stores orally. While this trend brings some benefits, however, some demerits should be considered.

In the contemporary world, as a result of the development of digital technologies, individuals opt to order products online instead of visiting stores physically. While this trend brings some benefits, however, some demerits should be considered. The primary advantage of online shopping is the ability to buy goods from different locations. In the past, people were limited to buying the products only available in nearby areas, or had to travel to other places, spending time and resources. In contrast, now, there is no such limitation, and people are able to order things not only from different cities, but also from foreign stores. For instance, in Kazakhstan, people use platforms like Pinduoduo to order goods from China, where the prices are comparably more affordable. Another merit is that it also facilitates businesses: by selling products online, entrepreneurs don't have to rent or buy a building, which can reduce expenses and financial burden. Despite the benefits listed above, there are some drawbacks, one of which is that it depends on delivery systems. In some countries, shipping might take long periods of time or even can be too expensive, making all the positives irrelevant. In addition, goods can arrive with an improper size or sometimes even damaged. Returning or replacing those orders sometimes can be complicated. To sum up, buying things online has advantages like improved accessibility and is economically beneficial for businesses. Yet, people should be aware of the disadvantages, such as delivery time, or problems that could occur with the product.