Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is argued by some that there is the amount of waste from households still not recycled. Some people believe that governments should focus more on this issue and make recycling legislation to increase the reusing disposal rate because it is the best way to encourage people to recycle their waste more and more. I firmly agree with this statement as it can conserve the environment and it is already successful in some countries. To begin with, recycling is an essential activity to protect nature. In other words, unrecycled waste can harm the environment. Take, for example, plastics that normally are eliminated by burning fire which makes a lot of fumes and affects air pollution. To prevent this situation, governments should implement using regulations to encourage people to recycle more waste. Even though someone may not agree with this obligation, it is a benefit for the big picture. Moreover, it would be working more if governments cooperated with private or non-profit organisations to launch recycling campaigns. As a result, these things will conserve the environment and benefit as a whole. In addition, applying recycling laws in some countries shows that people are more conscious about reusing products when their governments implemented the legislation. For instance, the population in Japan were prohibited to leave plastic boxes in public bins. If people did, they would have to pay fines. This law makes the Japanese reusing more plastic goods in their homes. As a result, most of the plastic waste in Japan is recycled by households and resulting in burning activities for plastics less than in any other country. In conclusion, governments spending should concentrate on recycled waste because their regulations can protect the environment and have positive effects as we can see in some countries where already launched recycling legislation.