In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Humans have gone to extreme lengths to invent a number of technological marvels for upgrading farming practices. However, this phenomenon ironically prompts a contentious question over why this so-called cutting-edge agricultural technology still can not solve the global starvation crisis. While it is critical to look for the roots of this paradoxical occurrence, some mitigation strategies also must be encompassed in the discussion. It stands to reason that no matter how advanced agricultural technology is invented, it will never be the right solution to reduce the world's poverty index. That is owing to the fact that this sophisticated innovation merely aims to find the most efficient way to get a large quantity. This condition, however, usually leads to an over-quantity situation which ultimately worsens food waste problems. For example, my country is known as one of the largest agricultural commodity-producing countries in the world but, at the same time, it is also condemned as one of the countries with the largest food waste. This fact exposes how Indonesian large-scale agricultural production places a greater emphasis on quantity in order to increase profits than on ensuring that these products are distributed to everyone. Therefore, a solution to ensure that agricultural goods are not squandered and can be consumed by everyone no matter their financial background is well distribution planning that is overseen by the government. It goes without saying that the authority is also responsible for reducing the hunger crisis so their oversight of the distribution of plantation goods through stringent rules is necessary. Case in point, the current problem of high cooking oil prices in Indonesia was rumoured to have to do with stockpiling by some unethical groups of people. In a nation with one of the biggest oil palm farms in the world, this catastrophe would not have happened if existing controls and oversight were rigorous. In conclusion, no matter how sophisticated agricultural technology becomes, it will not alleviate the hunger crisis since it is intended specifically for mass production. Plantation goods will be distributed fairly if the government sincerely supports it.