Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is no doubt that these days many young people tend to use their phones for hours daily due to a lack of care from their parents and I believe that although they can learn useful things using their phones, these devices can affect harmfully them. Initially, it is worth considering that the major cause that makes kids spend hours on phones is careless parents. To illustrate this point, some mothers tend to give mobile phones to their children to make them silent if they cry and to reduce the disturbance. In addition, if parents have jobs in the morning or even if they clean the house and do chores they will need to take a rest or a nap in the afternoon. Thus, an excellent way for them is to provide their children with distractive devices. According to this phenomenon, it is evident that it had significantly affected children in an awful way. This makes me strongly believe that it is a completely negative improvement. To clarify this, medical researchers have indicated that most youngsters -who are addicted to smartphones- are suffering from health issues. A good example of this is provided by the number of kids facing obesity nowadays. This can lead to other diseases such as heart attack, breathing difficulties and diabetes. As a result, these health problems can affect them in their educations journey as they will not be able to study and concentrate on their tasks and exams. To conclude, kids are using smartphones without any limits as a result of the concern of the parents leading to endless harmful health and body problems.