it is shown that many criminals have a low level of education. Some people argue that the best way to reduce crime is to educate criminals in prison to help them find jobs when they leave prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that education is fundamental for all human beings. While there is a commonly held belief that criminals have a low standard of education and that educating them could help reduce the crime rate, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that judging criminals should not focus primarily on punishing them but on improving their education as well. To begin with, in prisons where offenders are incarcerated for violating the law, one method has proven its efficiency to some extent. In other words, isolating those who committed crimes from the community is mainly intended to protect society from harm. However, prison sentences are limited, and after serving their time, inmates will eventually return to society. For example, if a burglar completes their sentence, the question arises: have the underlying reasons that led the burglar to commit the crime been eliminated? Another point to consider, criminals often have poor financial status as well as low levels of education. It is also possible to say that poverty is a shared factor among offenders. Regardless of their reason for committing crimes, prison authorities must impose rehabilitation programs to improve inmates’ skills and to prepare them to fit back into society. According to studies in the UK, the cost of operating prisons is significantly high. Several countries such as the Netherlands have transformed many prisons into rehabilitation centres, as a result, they found that the crime rate dropped by 5%. In conclusion, despite differing opinions, I firmly believe that authorities must reconsider the primary purpose of prisons. By providing educational programs to inmates, society can reduce the crime rate and help former offenders reintegrate successfully.