The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food?

Nearly every field of the world we live in, has evolved to a modren form. Convenience food is one such product of modernized food industry,and its advantages and disadvantages are usually debated.The benefits include time saving, while the drawbacks are health hazards and people turning away from organic food. On the one hand,processed food is truly time efficient.In order to cook food, mostly women of the households used to cook for hours, while today its just a matter of few minutes with convenience food. For instance,traditional Indian curry takes atleast an hour to prepare,contrarily frozen curry would only take a few minutes to prepare. Hence,processed food is time saving. On the other hand, scientific community throughout the world has raised concerns over the health hazards caused by the processed food.In order to preserve food for longer period of time,the food industry uses preservatives,most of which are proven to be unhealthy. Along with that, also food industry in developing countries is not well regulated,which further adds to the problems. Therefore,consuming processed food puts public health in risk. In addition to being unhealthy, convenience food also turns people away from the organic food. People find it easy to just warm processed food rather than taking hours to prepare fresh food and hence ignore the importance of organic food.Researchers across the globe are insisting on the use of organic food due to their health benefits as nutrients are lost during processing of food.Resultantly,it leads to deficency of vital nutrients in the body leading towards undernourished youth. Similarly,organic food has its health benefits such as fresh carrot juice has been proven to improve eyesight which its packed counterpart lacks. Thus,processed food turns people away from fresh food. To conclude, convenience food has its benefits of being time efficient.But the disadvantages of people not using organic food anymore and health hazards outweigh the advantages. Therefore,we should promote fresh food rather than the processed food.