Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than the other ones. Which types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think that the advantages of preserving these old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some that there are merits of preserving old buildings and constructions. I am strongly convinced that people ought to preserve ancient buildings that attach to culture and history, and the benefits of this action are more significant. It is my firm belief that old buildings which carry historical or architectural values ought to be preserved. To begin with, there are buildings that have witnessed the history of a country. Therefore, protecting these buildings could help the younger generations to learn about their country’s history. For instance, the Independent Palace in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam is a fundamental historical site which is well-conserved over time. Moreover, houses and other structures from previous decades that are architecturally splendid need preserving. This is mainly because these buildings are not only valuable in terms of their appearance, but can also be outstanding examples for later ones. As for the benefits and drawbacks, I firmly believe that the beneficial effects of preserving old buildings are more significant. First and foremost, the government could earn a greater amount of money. This is mainly because a number of tourists want to visit the town because they are attracted to the well-protected outlook of several buildings. As a result, philanthropic activities might be done thanks to that amount of money. Secondly, preserving old buildings could ensure uniformity in the design of a region. This is mainly because when the old buildings are well-preserved, there is no need to construct the new ones. To illustrate this point, houses in Hoi An Ancient Town in Vietnam have existed for decades creating one of the most well-known ancient towns in the country. In conclusion, old buildings are worth preserving due to the economic benefits and cultural diversity protection and I firmly believe that the merits of preserving old constructions are more significant.