The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as the importance of teaching cooperation to school children through participation in team sports activities in the school. Although there has been substantial debate on whether this is the best way to inculcate the habit in children or not, I am of the opinion that former proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of benefits can be attributed to educating children about cooperation through organizing joint games in educational institutes. On the one hand, having team sports will definitely lead to small disharmony and arguments among the player which if not resolved will result in the defeat of the team. For example, if the team members are not bonded through team spirit, defenders may pass the ball to the wrong member which in turn, may result in the opposite team gaining an advantage over the other team. This will teach the kids to cooperate in future matches to avoid the repetition of the same tale. On the other hand, without team spirit, children are only likely to lack behind in terms of unleashing their full potential. Admittedly, it is true that joint competition is the best way to teach cooperation but one must not ignore that there are also other ways for children to learn teamwork other than team sports like allocating joint tasks like cleaning, indulging in group games like puzzles. However, the benefits of these other methods seem to be insignificant against the deluge of benefits associated with team games. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding the emphasis on team games rather than other methods of cooperation. Nevertheless, I feel that team games will have a far-reaching impact on the cooperation level, not only in childhood but also in adulthood.