Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is the a positive or negative development

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether a great deal of food should be imported from other nations. I hold a strong view that this reality has both pros and cons. However, its disadvantages cannot overshadow its counterpart. Without a shadow of a doubt, importing food from other parts of the world plays a paramount important role. Given the fact that some countries which do not have a strong point in terms of agriculture, have a tendency to allocate money to buy high-quality food from other countries. By doing so, the government can guarantee a large range of choices for residents. For example, Singapore spends money on rice from a wealth of agricultural-based nations ranging from Vietnam to India in order to meet the Asian citizens’ demand. Hence, purchasing food brings a tremendous favorable impact on dwellers’ benefit. While the redeeming feature of buying foreign food is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if its demerit is ignored. On the grounds that international food brands may stand in the way of traditional cuisine's progress. For instance, Trung Nguyen Coffee which was one of the dominant corporations, has been replaced by Starbucks, a prestigious coffee label of the US. Therefore, purchasing other countries’ food can bring a competitive market that may deter the development of the traditional food branches. To sum up, importing food from across the border is of essence to satisfy those in need; however, it is undeniable that it also has a negative influence on the traditional food market.