Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Wage inequality is a contentious issue causing many problems for both Western and Eastern societies. I believe the debate centres on the economic system rather than moral issues. This essay will analyse both issues and use examples from famous sports stars and ethical jobs to demonstrate points and prove arguments. Firstly, employment in a Western society is also called the 'labour market' in reference to supply and demand. This is because it follows basic economic rules and those in short supply can logically command a higher wage. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo has skills very few people in the world possess and his wage reflects this, unfortunately economic rules ignore moral ideals. Therefore, although some professions save lives, they are still paid according to their availability in society. Secondly, a capitalistic society pays higher for skills that generate more income for the company, regardless of the task being performed. This is due to fact that in the system the company is operating in, profit is the objective, whereas the public sector operates at a loss and can usually only pay the 'going rates'. Take for example, a recent study from the IMF indicated that nurses in the UK earned just 15% above the minimum wage. Consequently, despite the vital skills medical professionals provide they pertain to the public sector where there is an inherent limit on wages. To conclude from the examples and arguments given I firmly agree that wages determined through economic rules rather than idealistic beliefs is perfectly acceptable. In the future the income gap between such disciplines such as the sports industry and the medical establishment will only continue to grow.