Some people argue capital punishment is a brutal decision and should be abolished. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion

The death penalty has always been a hotly debatable issue. While some strongly believe in abolishing it, others support using it as a punishment for serious crimes. This essay will discuss both perspectives and then I will give my personal opinion, which is that both views are valid. On the one hand, a considerable number of religious and democratic states, alongside international organisations like Amnesty, oppose the death penalty in all cases without exception – regardless of who is accused, the nature or circumstances of the crime, guilt or innocence or method of execution. And the rationale behind this is that capital punishment breaches our fundamental human rights, particularly the one to live without torture and inhuman treatment. The other view, however, is that capital punishment should exist because it is the most efficient means against such violent crimes as genocide, mass murder, and aggravated assaults. These are considered to be humans and should, therefore, be severely punished. Furthermore, certain states, like China and Iran, execute convicts charged with treason and espionage, as consider a betrayal of one’s country as the most heinous crime and it is difficult to find a true patriot who would disagree with such a view of treason. Finally, it is believed that the threat of being executed in the future will be sufficient to cause a significant number of people to refrain from committing a serious offence, which they have otherwise planned. Thus, the death penalty is, in my personal opinion, one of the efficient measures to deter violence. Personally, I feel that a decision to deprive someone of their life should only be limited to serious crimes, such as ethnic cleansing, which, for example, took place in the 1990s on the territories of Georgia, Albania and Serbia. Under all other circumstances, the death sentence should be banned as in its essence it is a degrading and inhuman punishment. In conclusion, even though capital punishment seems fair in certain cases and can efficiently prevent crimes, it has to be abolished with an exception of highly violent crimes against humanity.