Using animals to test the safety of cosmetics or drugs used for medical reasons is never acceptable. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

People have different views about whether animal testing for medical research is necessary or not. From my perspective, animal testing plays an integral role in the medicine industry, in spite of the drawbacks it brings. There are two major reasons why some people oppose the idea of using animals for medical experiments. Firstly, it is believed that such experiments are cruel and inhumane, and therefore should be prohibited. Every year, many animals are subjected to medical experimentation and have to suffer physical pain and even deprivation of food and water. Additionally, in order to implement research on animals, large amounts of money are expended on the establishment of facilities and human resources. This can be a burden on a country’s national budget, preventing the government from investing in other more important aspects like education and housing. Despite the above mentioned disadvantages, in my opinion, animal testing is necessary. Humans are still reliant on animal testing for many purposes, including developing new medications and checking the safety of medical products. In fact, the most powerful supercomputers are currently unable to understand the workings of the human body, and complex organs such as the brain and heart, which is crucial for medical research and development. More importantly, due to biological similarities, medical research needs to be implemented on animals, which will bring about better outcomes in medical research compared to other methods. Over many years, chimpanzees, the closest relatives of humans, have been used to investigate advanced treatments for cancer and heart disease, and until now, there is still no better alternative. In conclusion, although animal testing may be cruel and cost a significant amount of money, it still needs to be conducted because of the unique benefits.